The Revelation of Jesus Christ – The Seven Churches

Posted by Elfriede Copple

In the Book of Revelation Chapter 2 and 3 we learn what Jesus tells John to write to the Seven Churches.

Jesus details what He likes and what He has against some of those churches. Church meaning the PEOPLE!

Jesus calls upon the church of
Sardis, and
Laodicea to

Jesus points out what He has against them.

Ephesus – the loveless church since they LEFT their First Love. They didn’t lose it, they LEFT their first love –Jesus—. Jesus points this out to them so they can REPENT and return to Him!

Pergamos – the compromising church being over tolerant and therefore allowing practices into the church that are contrary to God’s doctrine. Jesus calls them out to REPENT and return to sound doctrine!

Thyatrira – the morally corrupt church because they are allowing women to have authority over men [1 Corinthians 14:34-35; 2 Timothy 2:11-14; 3:1-13; Titus 1:5-9; 2:1-5] and are also committing sexual immorality which God despises. Jesus calls them to REPENT!

Sardis – the spiritually dead church. Jesus says that they seem alive to the outside but are dead on the inside! We can be certain that Jesus knows the heart of every believer and non-believer as well as the professed believer! Jesus calls upon them to REPENT!

Laodicea – the lukewarm or complacent church which is neither hot nor cold! They thought they were rich because they had need of nothing. Jesus counsels them about what rich really means and tells them also to REPENT!

Studying all Seven Churches we notice that Jesus only tells 5 out of the 7 churches to REPENT!

Two churches are true to the Lord!

Smyrna – the persecuted church who will be tested in tribulation. Jesus promises those who overcome the crown of life!

Philadelphia – the faithful church who will also receive the crown of life! Jesus confirms that they have kept His word and not denied His name!

May we also stay true to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!

Author: Mike and Elfriede

For the past 15 years Michael Copple has studiously devoted his life to the Lord by preaching the Gospel and moderating Bible studies. He is a 1958 Eagle Scout, holds a B.S. degree in electrical engineering, and achieved the highest US Air Force enlisted rank of Chief Master Sergeant with over 26 years service, one year of which was with Forward Air Control duties in Vietnam. For three years he was the senior enlisted member of the US Air Force Academy Wings of Blue Parachute Team; he has performed over 2,000 parachute jumps and accumulated over 15 hours of freefall. During his parachuting years Mike experienced a mishap of being a “hung jumper” outside the aircraft, and serious parachute malfunctions like a deadly seesaw night jump entanglement with another jumper, and an 85 mph wind shear which almost took his life. This experience inspired and qualified him to author the novel Calling from the Sky. A former world-wide electronic service engineer for 16 years with a semiconductor equipment manufacturer, he and his wife Elfriede currently live in the Canadian Rockies surrounded by 6 National Parks. Besides studying God's Word, they both like to exercise, cross country ski, hike, garden, and walk their dog Kansas. Visit him at

One thought on “The Revelation of Jesus Christ – The Seven Churches”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s