Order of Events in The Book of Revelation – Chapter by Chapter

The first Eleven Chapters provide a Preview of the Things to Come

Today we are posting a short summary of each chapter of the Book of Revelation:

Chapter 1
The Lord Jesus tells John to write this Book and that it will bless those who understand. Revelation 1:3, 11

Chapter 2
The Lord Jesus tells John what to say to four of seven churches.
The number seven represents all churches.
Revelation 2

Chapter 3
The Lord Jesus tells John what to say to three more churches.
Revelation 3
The churches, no longer on earth, are not mentioned again until Revelation 22:16.

Chapter 4
All church age believers are raptured to heaven, saved from God’s wrath.
Ephesians 4:13-18; 1Corinthians 15:51-52; Romans 11:25; 1Peter 1:3-9;
Romans 5:9; 1Thessalonians 1:10; 5:9; Revelation 4:1

Chapter 5
All church age believers praise the Redeemer who was slain and bought them with His blood.
Acts 20:28; Revelation 5:9-11

Chapter 6
The first six seals of the scroll are opened and the antichrist is revealed.
2Thessalonians 2:7-12; 1Thessalonians 5:1-6; Revelation 6:2, 4, 5, 8

Chapter 7
During the first half of Tribulation 144,000 Jews of twelve tribes of Israel are saved along with others who come to believe before God begins His great judgment.
Revelation 7:1-8, 9-14

Chapter 8
The seventh seal is opened revealing seven angels sounding the first four of seven trumpets to begin telling the things which will take place in the Great Tribulation.
Revelation 8:1

Chapter 9
The fifth and sixth trumpets are sounded to tell of the wrath in judgment that will increase dramatically.
Revelation 9:1, 13

Chapter 10
The seven thunders reveal that the seventh trumpet is about to sound, but John was told to eat the “little book” first and to prophesy again about many who will forever suffer.
Revelation 10:2-11

Chapter 11
God gives power to two witnesses to give a message of judgment and need for repentance—then the seventh trumpet sounds, Christ will rule, and the preview is over.
Revelation 11:3-8, 15

Chapter 12
The Christ Child of Israel is revealed with the glory of His creation and Satan is described as “the dragon” who has war with Michael, the archangel.
Revelation 12:1-3, 7

Chapter 13
The antichrist and false prophet are introduced as the beasts from the sea and the land—and demand everyone to take the mark 666 to buy or sell. (One world gov.)
Revelation 13:1, 11, 17

Chapter 14
Six angels distinguish between God’s grace and His judgment.
Angels announce it is time to reap the blood of unbelievers.
Revelation 14:6, 8, 9, 15, 17, 15-20

Chapter 15
Preparation is made for Christ’s victory over the beasts by seven angels coming out of the temple with seven plagues and seven bowls full of God’s wrath.
Revelation 15:6-7

Chapter 16
Angels pour out of seven bowls God’s tremendous wrath which is more total and universal than were the trumpets.
War of Armageddon begins.
Revelation 16:2-4, 8, 10, 12; 17-21

Chapter 17
Depicts the fall and doom of Babylon the Great (the one world religion and government). This is the Second Coming of Christ to earth.
Revelation 17:10-11

Chapter 18
Angel having great authority announces the end of the war “Babylon the great is fallen” in only one hour.
Revelation 18:1, 17

Chapter 19
Marriage of the Church to the Lamb, followed by the marriage feast,
Antichrist and false prophet both cast into the unquenchable lake of fire.
War of Armageddon ends.
Revelation 19:7, 9, 19-21

Chapter 20
Church reigning with Christ in Millennial;
Great White Throne;
Satan released, deceives nations, gathers them again to battle, God wins again,
Satan joins the antichrist and false prophet in Lake of Fire.
Revelation 20:6, 7, 10-11

Chapter 21
New heaven and new earth, New Jerusalem, no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying, every tear wiped away; the Lord Jesus announces, “It is done!”
New city described.
Revelation 20:1-4, 6, 10-27

Chapter 22
Heaven described; Lord Jesus promises to come; all are warned not to tamper with God’s Word. He again says He is coming quickly.
Revelation 22:1-5, 12, 18-19, 20

When does the Rapture occur in relation to the Seven-Year Tribulation?

To answer this controversial question, we must realize an important fact about the arrangement of the last Book in the Bible: The Revelation of Jesus Christ.

Revelation begins in chronological order, but the sequence changes and repeats some of what has already been written. For example, in chapter 6, six of the seven seals reveal to us the things which must be hereafter. These seals give us a preview of what will take place in heaven and on earth. But when the seventh seal is opened in chapter 8, then the things spoken of before begin to happen.

Continue reading “When does the Rapture occur in relation to the Seven-Year Tribulation?”